South Shore, Nova Scotia

German settlers

We meet them everywhere: the traces of German settlers. On our journey through North America we drove past Berlin, Hamburg, Ulm, Heidelberg and Freiburg – all cities in the USA. Sometimes we sent photos of the city names to our friends at home.
But “Don’t fress”? What was that? That could be German. Or English?

South Shore Nova Scotia

After we delivered Wendy to the airport in Halifax, Berni, Johnny and I treat ourselves to a few days holiday by the sea before we go home. The post bus has to be cleaned and some things can be sorted out. But we want to end our long journey calmly. We drive out comfortably on side roads every bay. Again and again small fishing villages like Peggy’s Cove invite us to stay.

Lunenburg

“Don’t fress!”. I’m still teasing. Meanwhile we arrived in Lunenburg 90 km from Halifax. Lunenburg, that sounds like German settlers -Lüneburg-? Almost right.

In 1753 -1453- Germans, Swiss and French came to the Halifax region to settle down. The strictly believing Germans stayed among themselves and started to found a settlement: today’s Lunenburg – only – they came from very different places in Germany…! How could they agree on this name? Not at all.

It was George II, King of England. The British founded Halifax in 1749, only 4 years earlier, and the area was under British rule. An English king chooses a German name? Probably not.

Well, this English king comes from the House of Hanover. He was the German elector of Braunschweig-Lüneburg and namesake for the only German-speaking settlement in Nova Scotia. Sounds logical.

From Lüneburg became in the course of the time -Lunenburg-. From “Fress nicht so” became “Don’t fress!”, from “Rutsch nicht auf dem Stuhl hin und her” became “Stop your rutchin’ around!” and some more…

UNESCO World Heritage Site

The German settlers did a great job. The city grew and flourished. Business and manor houses were built, which are still very well preserved today. One could almost speak of German workmanship… In 1995 the old town of Lunenburg with its unusual wooden architecture was placed under UNESCO protection.

Maybe it’ll happen to us, too. After such a long time on the road in an english speaking room. And there are sentences like “Ich gehe mal zu einer bakery …” or “Wieviel dollars kostet das?”. When we talk about Walmat, of course we mean -Aldi-. 
Please be patient. That will be all right again.

South Shore, Nova Scotia

Deutsche Siedler

Wir treffen sie überall: Die Spuren deutscher Siedler. Auf unserer Reise durch Nordamerika fuhren wir an Berlin, Hamburg, Ulm, Heidelberg und Freiburg vorbei – alles Städte in den USA. Manchmal sendeten wir Fotos der Stadtnamen an die betreffenden Freunde zuhause.
Aber „Don‘t fress!“? Was war das? Das könnte deutsch sein. Oder Englisch?

South Shore Nova Scotia

Nachdem wir Wendy am Flughafen in Halifax ablieferten, gönnen Berni, Johnny und ich uns ein paar Tage Urlaub am Meer, bevor es an unsere Heimreise geht. Der Postbus muss geputzt werden und so einiges kann aussortiert werden. Aber wir wollen unsere lange Reise ruhig ausklingen lassen. Gemütlich fahren wir auf Nebenstraßen jede Bucht aus. Immer wieder laden kleine Fischerdörfchen wie Peggy‘s Cove zum Verweilen ein.

Lunenburg

Don‘t fress! Ich rätzle immer noch. Inzwischen sind wir in Lunenburg 90 km von Halifax entfernt angekommen. Lunenburg, das klingt nach deutschen Siedlern aus -Lüneburg-? Fast richtig.

1753 kamen 1453 Deutsche, Schweizer und Franzosen in die Region Halifax, um hier sesshaft zu werden. Die streng gläubigen Deutschen blieben unter sich und fingen an eine Siedlung zu gründen: das heutige Lunenburg – nur – kamen sie aus ganz verschiedenen Orten in Deutschland…! Wie konnten sie sich auf diesen Namen einigen? Gar nicht.

Es war Georg ll, König von England. Die Briten gründeten 1749, also erst 4 Jahre zuvor, Halifax und das Gebiet stand unter britischer Regierung. Ein englischer König wählt einen deutschen Namen? Wohl kaum.

Nun, dieser englische König stammt aus dem Hause Hannover. Er war der deutsche Kurfürst von Braunschweig-Lüneburg und Namensvetter für die einzige deutschsprachige Siedlung in Nova Scotia. Ach so. Klingt logisch.

Aus Lüneburg wurde im Laufe der Zeit -Lunenburg-. Aus „Fress nicht so“ wurde „Don‘t fress!“, aus „Rutsch nicht auf dem Stuhl hin und her“ wurde „Stop your rutchin‘ around!“ und so manches mehr…

UNESCO World Heritage Site

Die deutschen Siedler leisteten ganze Arbeit. Die Stadt wuchs und blühte. Geschäfts- und Herrenhäuser entstanden, die heute noch sehr gut erhalten sind. Fast könnte man von deutscher Wertarbeit sprechen… 1995 wurde die Altstadt von Lunenburg mit seiner ungewöhnlichen Holzarchitektur unter den UNESCO Schutz gestellt.

Möglicherweise passiert es uns auch. Nach so langer Zeit unterwegs im englisch sprechendem Raum. Und es kommen Sätze zustande wie „Ich geh mal schnell in die Bakery …“ oder „Wieviel Dollar kostet das?“. Wenn wir von Walmat sprechen, meinen wir natürlich demnächst -Aldi-. 
Habt bitte Geduld. Das legt sich wieder.