Forillion NP and Percé Rock, Gaspesie/Quebec

I wanted to drive back to Halifax via Gaspésie. This is the peninsula in the Saint Laurence Gulf, which still belongs to Quebec. That costs us about 800 km detour. Why? Because the country is over there. I discovered the name “Lands End” on the map. That’s a long narrow nose that rises from the Forillion National Park in the far east into the sea. That fascinates me. What does it look like in the end -of-the-country?

Forillion National Park

Over the rocky north coast of the peninsula we reach the Forillion National Park. It is June 15th and spring seems to be just starting. Yellow dandelion, blue forget-me-not and daffodils blossom on the lush green meadows. The fir forest is loosened up with deciduous trees. The new delicate and light green leaves form a beautiful contrast to the dark needles. The sea thunders loudly against the cliffs of the steep coast. From time to time a small pebble beach has formed. In the distance we see whales jumping.

The sun is shining and it couldn’t be more beautiful. In winter, we are told, temperatures of -30 degrees are measured. The winter is so long that there is hardly any time for the other seasons.

What the hell. In summer we enjoy the beginning of spring and discover a true paradise at the end of the country.

Percé Rock

Beside the Forillion National Park, the huge Rocher Percé is a tourist magnet. It is an 88 m high, 90 m wide and 475 long rock monolith with an archway. It rises off the coast of the small village Perce like a piece of gate out of the sea.

But even without the tourist favourites Forillion NP and Percé Rock the Gaspésie is worth a trip. Although the peninsulas offer everything your heart desires, tourism is moderate. The villages are small and unspoilt. One lives the laissez-faire of the French.

The Gaspésie would be a dream island. If spring didn’t start in mid-June, summer wouldn’t be over in mid-August and winter wouldn’t arrive in mid-September…

Forillion NP und Percé Rock, Gaspesie/Quebec

Ich wollte über die Gaspésie nach Halifax zurückfahren. Das ist die Halbinsel im Saint Laurence Golf, die noch zu Quebec gehört. Das kostet uns etwa 800 km Umweg. Warum? Weil das Land dort zu Ende ist. Ich habe die Bezeichnung „Lands End“ auf der Landkarte entdeckt. Das ist eine lange schmale Nase, die vom Forillion National Park im äußersten Osten ins Meer ragt. Das fasziniert mich. Wie sieht es wohl am Ende -des- Landes aus?

Forillion National Park

Über die felsgebirgige Nordküste der Halbinsel gelangen wir zum Forillion National Park. Es ist der 15. Juni und der Frühling scheint gerade erst zu starten. Auf den saftiggrünen Wiesen blüht gelber Löwenzahn, blaue Vergißmeinnicht und Narzissen. Der Tannenwald ist mit Laubbäumen aufgelockert. Die neuen zarten und hellgrünen Blättchen bilden einen schönen Kontrast zu den dunklen Nadeln. Das Meer donnert laut gegen die Felsen der Steilküste. Ab und zu hat sich ein kleiner Kiesstrand gebildet. In der Ferne sehen wir Wale springen.

Die Sonne scheint und es könnte nicht schöner sein. Im Winter, so sagt man uns, werden Temperaturen von -30 Grad gemessen. Der Winter ist so lang, dass für die übrigen Jahreszeiten kaum Zeit bleibt.

Was soll’s. Wir genießen im Sommer den Frühlingsanfang und entdecken am Ende des Landes ein wahres Paradies.

Percé Rock

Neben dem Forillion National Park ist der riesige Rocher Percé ein Touristenmagnet. Es ist ein 88 m hoher, 90 m breiter und 475 langer Felsenmonolith mit einem Torbogen. Er ragt vor der Küste des kleinen Ortes Perce wie ein Tortestück aus dem Meer.

Aber auch ohne die Touristenlieblinge Forillion NP und Percé Rock ist die Gaspésie eine Reise wert. Denn, obwohl die Halbinseln alles bietet, was das Herz begehrt, ist der Tourismus moderat. Die Dörfchen sind klein und unverbaut. Man lebt das Laissez-faire der Franzosen.

Die Gaspésie wäre eine Trauminsel. Wenn der Frühling nicht erst Mitte Juni starten würde, der Sommer nicht bereits Mitte August vorbei wäre und Mitte September nicht schon der Winter Einzug hielte…